Russ James Volunteer of the Year Award

russ james


After his retirement, Russ James took on a second career of volunteerism. He was a past President of the Erin Rotary Club and the President of the Erin Rotary Foundation which administers the Houston County Imagination Library program. He was also a board member of the Houston County Area Chamber of Commerce and a key organizer of the Irish Day Celebration, Middle Tennessee Workforce Essentials, the Foster Care Review Board, Chairman of Trinity Hospital Board, and Program Chairman of the Golden Agers Club. He spent his years of retirement here in Houston County working, in all his efforts, to bring improvements to the county and its children.

An award in his honor was established in 2008 to recognize other individuals who have also spent their time and talents to help benefit our county.

Award Winners

2021                 Elizabeth Martin

2019                 Linda Bratschi
2018                 Jerome Parchman
2017                 Herb Gould
2016                 Bob McKinnon
2015                 Kelly Irons
2014                 Leah Baggett
2013                 Kristi Spurgeon
2012                 Bettye McKinnon
2011                 Allen McCampbell
2010                 Jerry Bybee
2009                 Debbie Schmidt
2008                 Shannon Kilgore