Houston County Historical Society

2016 Program Schedule for Historical Society
*Meetings are held at 7:00 pm at Erin City hall unless otherwise noted below.
Questions Regarding programming should be sent to
Bennetta James bjames541@wildblue.net

May 13, 2016 (this is a Friday) 6:00 pm, Picnic at McCampbell Pavilion, bring picnic food and a lawn chair.  Bar-B-Q and “fixings” will be provided.  Program: Hermione Wilson, An American Indian Dancer.

Directions to McCampbell’s pavilion: From the crossroads, take 49 about 8 miles.  Bethany Road is on your right, with a large “Bethany Church” sign.  Turn into the second driveway on the left and park by the barn.  Handicap parking will be besides the pavilion, so continue beyond the drive and turn in before the lot gate.

June 28           Joint meeting with Stewart County Historical Society, 7:00pm at the W. D. Sykes Museum in Dover. (meet in the square at 6:15 if you want a ride to this joint meeting.)

July 12            7:00 pm, Erin City Hall, Program – Donald & Jackie Bateman, Heirloom Flowers.

Aug. 9             7:00 pm, Erin City Hall, Program –  Jim Long , “Jack Hinson History”

Sept. 13          7:00 pm ,Billy Frank Morrison, “The Bird Cage” (if you missed his program a few years ago, you don’t want to miss this one)

Oct. 1              Danville Reunion, 9:00 am, McKinnon Community Center

Oct. 11            7:00 pm, Erin City Hall, Dan Alsobrooks – speaker

Nov. 15           7:00 pm, Houston County Archives (in the basement of the Houston County Court House) – Melissa Barker will have the program and host.  Bring finger foods.

Dec. 13           6:00 pm, Erin City Hall, Christmas Pot Luck and fellowship.

2015 Officers

President             Jerry Bybee
Vice President      Jerry Fussell
Secretary            Bennetta James
Treasurer             Bettye McKinnon

Board members:  Jackie Bateman, Leah Baggett, Melissa Barker, Gary Booker, Bob McKinnon, Sid McMillan, and Debra Stanfill.