Billy Ray Cleghern Business of the Year Award

The Business of the Year award was established in 2014 in honor of Billy Ray Cleghern for his contributions to the community.

Billy Ray Cleghern served as Chairman of the School Board and served as a board member of the Erin Housing Authority. He was a volunteer firefighter. He was a member of Erin United Methodist Church and a U.S. Air Force veteran.  Cleghern was a member of the Austin Peay State University Alumni Association and was a Scottish Rite Mason, as well as a Boy Scout leader and a past president of the Civitan and Erin Rotary clubs. He was Lord High Mayor of the 1975 Irish Celebration and received the Chamber’s 2011 Emerald Award for outstanding community service.

Cleghern’s Piggly Wiggly has been honored for its community support, especially youth-related programs and activities. The store employs a number of young people in the community and many community residents show it as their first job.

Business of the Year

2022                Nave Funeral Home

2021                Largent Sawmill

2020                Accents

2019                Teresa Myer Tax & Bookkeeping

2018                Save-A-Lot

2017                Southernaire Restaurant & Motel

2016                Rye’s Automotive

2015                Signature Healthcare

2014                Paul’s Pizza and Shamrock & Shenanigans

2013                Traditions First Bank

2012                Mitchum Drug Company

2011                Cleghern’s Piggly Wiggly